Our Governors


The organisation of the Governing Body of Charlton Mackrell C of E Primary School is set out in the school’s most recent Instrument of Government, made effective on 11 February 2015 and reviewed annually.

The Board consists of 12 governors and all have a strong link with our wider school community. Governors serve for a standard term of term of 4 years though co-opted governors, who are appointed by the Board, serve 2 year terms.

A Governing body performs three main functions they are:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction for the school.
  2. Holding the Head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils.
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money it well spent.

The day to day management and running of the school is the responsibility of the Head teacher and school leadership team. It is the job of the leadership team to report to the governors so we can undertake our main functions identified above.

The Full Governing Board (FGB) meets every half term and Governors also undertake individual statutory governor roles as well as duties to specific areas of the curriculum and also meet regularly in committees or working parties that look more closely, with staff, at important areas of the school’s performance and development these include:

  • School Finance
  • Premises
  • Performance and Standards (Curriculum)
  • Personnel and Pay
  • Head Teacher performance
  • Statutory committees to cover complaints, appeals and exclusions are convened if required.
  • Individual responsibilities include Safeguarding, Special Educational Needs or Disability, Armed Forces & Service families, Church School and ICT

The legal terms of the governing body can be accessed here: Instrument of Government Feb 2015.


CM Governors Newsletter December 2020

Governor names, roles and contact information are given below.


Name Governor type Role(s) on governing  board Contact
Rebecca Cawley Headteacher Board; all committees
Celia Mycock

Chair of Governors

Local Authority Finance Committee; Personnel & Pay Committee  Via school at 01458 223329
Dr Ian Cornish

Vice Chair of Governors

Co-opted Finance Committee  Via school at 01458 223329
Anna King  Parent Via school at 01458 223329
Tom Stokes Co-opted Via school
01458 223329
Rev. Alan Symonds Foundation Church School Via school
01458 223329
Kevin Moore
SEN Governor
Foundation Performance & Standards; Personnel & Pay committees Lead governor for Premises & Health and Safety Via school
01458 223329
Maddie Carter-Rice Staff EYFS; Performance & Standards Committee member Via school
01458 223329
Terrie Elliss
Safeguarding Governor
Co- opted Performance & Standards Committee member; Friends of
Charlton Mackrell School
Via school
01458 223329
Neil Dockerty Parent Elected Parent Governor Via school

01458 223329

Charlie Hull Co- opted Chair - Performance & Standards Committee; Personnel & Pay Committee member  Via school at 01458 223329
Tamzin Elliott Co- opted Via school at 01458 223329
Christine Taylor Clerk Clerk to Governing Body Via school at 01458 223329


Term decs and attendance Sept 2021

Governor info Apr 2021

FGB Register of Interest September 2020